top of page

The Ten Planets in Astrology

Astrology is an ancient tool that has survived into our own times. The first attempt of man to find meaning behind the chaos of the world. A world full of hidden meanings and symbolism. As the old maxim goes: “As above, so below”. It is believed that the macrocosm plays an influential and crucial role in the microcosm.

planets astrology

In astrology, we speak of planetary influences. Every planet carries an energetic frequency that consists of many sides, negative and positive. Every astrological sign is influenced by a planet, although technically the sun or moon are not planets. The planets give traits to the astrological signs and explain occurrences in life through their transits and intercommunication between one another.

I use both traditional and modern planetary rulerships. Here is a list of the ten planets used in astrology and what they symbolize:

Sun - Leo - cycle of 365 days

Identity, core essence, soul mission, strength, creation, consciousness, taking center stage

Moon - Cancer - cycle of 29.5 days

Subconscious, emotions, inner world, feelings, home, caregivers, roots, nourishment, closeness, mother figure, the unconscious

Mercury - Gemini and Virgo - cycle of 88 days

Intellect, communication, clarity, order, commerce, obtaining knowledge, exchange, studies, learning, ideas

Venus - Taurus and Libra - cycle of 225 days

Love, values, connection, beauty, aesthetics, style, creativity, money, possession, material world

Mars - Aries and Scorpio - cycle of 687 days

Action, movement, physical strength, motivation, ambition, implementation, drive, ideas, inspiration, self-empowerment

Jupiter - Sagittarius and Pisces - cycle of 12 years

Growth, expansion, extremes, truth, purpose, mission, happiness, success, lightness, generosity, meaning

Saturn - Capricorn and Aquarius - cycle of 29 years

Teacher, rules, regulations, laws, limitations, restrictions, structures, order, responsibility, father

Uranus - Aquarius - cycle of 84 years

Eccentric, revolutionary, innovation, technology

Neptune - Pisces - cycle of 165 years

Dreamy, spiritual, poetic, musical, otherly realms, higher connection,spiritual beliefs, illusions

Pluto - Scorpio - cycle of 248 years

Psychology, transformation, intensity, passion, addiction, dominance

Subscribe to our free monthly Seasonal Guide every beginning of a new cycle. Learn more about the current energies and how to best navigate them.

About the writer

Inés Kelly is a trauma-informed space holder and integral guide in Human Design and astrology. Her multi-cultural background has gifted her with the insight of various rituals and traditions. Bringing the ancestral and the honoring of the natural cycles to the community is a deep value she holds.


bottom of page