top of page

The Twelve Houses in Astrology

In astrology, the houses represent the various spheres of human life. It gives us an additional layer of understanding who we innately are. Overall, the planets represent motivation. The signs show us how we will use that motivation. The houses show us in which area of life that motivation will be manifested in.

Only with your exact time of birth can you receive an accurate display of the house distribution in your natal chart. There are many house systems to work with in astrology. Although this article will not focus on the house systems, we will go through house to house to understand the overall meaning of each area of life.

The Twelve Houses

There are twelve houses. Each house is associated with one of the twelve zodiac signs. It is important to mention that no matter if you have a planet or many planets in that house or not, that house will still give us insights into that area of life. Especially through the transits of the planets we can see what house (or area of life) is being activated by certain planets. This is where it gets interesting and complex in astrology.

Below are the main descriptions and understanding of the houses in astrology, yet are not limited to. As the house depending on the planet and sign it is in your natal chart can deliver further underlying meanings.

First House (Aries and Mars)

Identity, physical being, sense of self, presence, perspective, ego

Second House (Taurus and Venus)

Values, material, possessions, money, objects, belongings

Third House (Gemini and Mercury)

Local community, communication, peers, colleagues, classmates, siblings

Fourth House (Cancer and Moon)

Home, family, origin, roots, background, maternal lineage

Fifth House (Leo and Sun)

Creativity, passion, children, romance, performance, play, pleasure

Sixth House (Virgo and Mercury)

Health, wellness, daily rituals, exercise, diet, routines, habits

Seventh house (Libra and Venus)

Partnerships, contracts, commitments, alliances, unions, approvals

Eighth house (Scorpio and Mars/Pluto)

Intimacy, sexuality, transformation, trauma, implications, inheritance, investments, magick

Ninth house (Sagittarius and Jupiter)

Travel, philosophy, higher education, opportunity, expansion

Tenth house (Capricorn and Saturn)

Reputation, legacy, achievement, success, potential, paternal lineage

Eleventh house (Aquarius and Saturn/Uranus)

Humanitarianism, technology, networks, distant relatives, medicine, collective ideology

Twelfth house (Pisces and Jupiter/Neptune)

Subconscious, astral realm, mysticism, escapism, secrets, release, dissolution

Subscribe to our free monthly Seasonal Guide every beginning of a new cycle. Learn more about the current energies and how to best navigate them.

About the writer

Inés Kelly is a trauma-informed space holder and integral guide in Human Design, Gene Keys and astrology. Her multi-cultural background has gifted her with the insight of various rituals and traditions. Bringing the ancestral and the honoring of the natural cycles to the community is a deep value she holds.


  • Parkers’ Astrology by Julia and Derek Parker

  • This is Your Destiny by Aliza Kelly


bottom of page