top of page

The Four Phases of the Moon

The moon is a celestial being in the sky. It rotates around the Earth. Depending on the position of the moon, sun and the earth, it has either more or less light. In reality the moon never increases or decreases in size, as it might appear, nor does it have its own light. It is merely the sunlight reflecting back at us from the moon. Although both seem to be the same size. The sun is about 400 times bigger than the moon.

moon cycle

Every moon phase holds a different energetic frequency to it. As everything in life is energy. The moon goes through 8 different phases, which consist of 4 primary phases known as: New Moon, Waxing Moon, Full Moon and Waning Moon. Waxing means increasing in size. Whereas waning is decreasing.

The particular phase of the Moon depends upon where the Moon is in its orbit. It takes approximately one month (29.5 days) to make its full orbit around the Earth. That illuminated shape of the Moon that is visible to us from Earth is called a phase.

The moon is thought to influence:
  • the tides of the ocean

  • animals and plants in nature

  • the human body, as we are comprised of 60% water

  • bodily functions and fluids, such as the menstrual cycle

  • our intuition and the right hemisphere of the brain

  • our emotional state as an individual and collective.

New Moon

The New Moon is the starting point of the lunar cycle. Many people believe that it is a good time to start something new or to attract our manifestations. The actual day of the New Moon itself is thought to be an optimal time for rest (out in nature), to pause and have some quiet time for oneself.

Waxing Moon

The Waxing Moon consists of a gradual build up of two weeks. It is the perfect time to put the work in and continue building up your projects. After the reflective phase of the New Moon, where we set our intentions, energy is increasing, as the moon waxes. We are heading towards the peak of our lunar cycle. You can use the power of the Waxing Moon to attract things or improve things. The Waxing Moon consists of three phases: Waxing Crescent, First Quarter and Waxing Gibbous.

Full Moon

On the Full Moon we have reached the peak of the lunar cycle. It represents the harvest season of the seeds that we planted on the New Moon. The Full Moon is the expression of the balance between the sun (masculine) and the moon (feminine energy). The Full Moon occurs when the Moon opposes the Sun with the Earth in the middle. The Full Moon brings our shadows to the light. It is a powerful time to accelerate growth in our subconscious mind and transform internal struggles.

Waning Moon

The Waning Moon occurs immediately following the Full Moon. As the zenith peaks and the sun shifts into a waning phase, the energy of the Moon shifts as well. The Full Moon is like experiencing an explosion, followed by a period of cooling down, and then of releasing. While the Full Moon brings intensity and honesty, the Waning Moon is a great time to focus on things you want to let go of and on things that are no longer working in your life. It consists of three phases: Waning Gibbous, Last Quarter and Waning Crescent Moon lasting for two weeks.

Learn more on the moon, her cycle and your moon sign in our upcoming Masterclass on the Moon on Thu, 29 June 2023 at 20:00 CET online.

For more moon magic, join our Women’s Circle every New Moon online and Full Moon in Zurich. Learn more about La Luna Circle here.

About the writer

Inés Kelly is a trauma-informed space holder and integral guide in Human Design and astrology. Her multi-cultural background has gifted her with the insight of various rituals and traditions. Bringing the ancestral and the honoring of the natural cycles to the community is a deep value she holds.


bottom of page